The Food Processor & The Spirelli: a Love Story

My wedding day was the happiest day of my life. It was the day I was joined together with two of my new favorite kitchen gadgets: my 7-cup Cuisinart food processor, and my Spirelli.

I put both to good use yesterday when making this dish: zucchini noodles with pesto and heirloom tomatoes. Thanks to Spirelli and the food processor, the whole process only took about half an hour.

IMG_0752

I started out by spiral cutting the zucchini. Here’s the magical Spirelli:

IMG_0739
Behold: he is a god among kitchen gadgets.

It left me with those funny zucchini torpedoes. It also left me with a bunch of zucchini noodles. I used 4 zucchini, and it turned out to be the perfect amount for Colin and I for lunch; if I were making a dinner, I’d use 6 zucchini. It cooks down significantly.

IMG_0738

I salted the noodles generously and left them in a colander, over a bowl, to drain out liquid. In the meantime, I went to make the pesto.

IMG_0741

A ton of basil; all the spinach I had in the fridge; olive oil; garlic; salt… you get the idea. Oh, and some sun dried tomatoes.

IMG_0742

…and some of that delicious sun dried tomato oil. Go go food processor!

IMG_0743Meanwhile, the zucchini didn’t seem to be draining all that well. I added more salt, then pressed the liquid out with paper towels.

I offered Colin the salted zucchini juice, but he didn’t take me up on it.

IMG_0746
Delicious!

These heirloom tomatoes were stupid expensive at Safeway. I used the self-checkout line, and already had canceled my purchase of a tiny bottle of ground cloves when it rang up as $8.39. Canceling a purchase requires the approval of the attendant, so when two tomatoes also rang up as $8+, I was too embarrassed to cancel another item.

But they are beautiful tomatoes.

IMG_0750Recipes I consulted recommended sauteing the zucchini for only about 2 minutes; I taste tested at the 2 minute mark and decided I wanted them softer. I probably cooked them for about 5 minutes. Since they were already salted, I just added pepper.

IMG_0747I tossed them with pesto and topped them with the tomatoes and TJ’s Quattro Formaggio blend.

IMG_0754
SO TASTY

And even though I’d been looking forward to zucchini noodles, they were so much better than I’d expected. At the end of the meal, I declared that I was never going to make regular noodles again; from here on, it was all zucchini, all the time. Colin was a bit more measured. He said that he really liked them, but wasn’t swearing off pasta for all eternity.

9 thoughts on “The Food Processor & The Spirelli: a Love Story

  1. What did you do with the leftover zucchini spirals? I have a julianne peeler that makes decent zucchini/carrot/whatever noodles (but way slower!), but it usually leaves leftover veggie chunks too. This looks delicious! PS if this blog mentions enough TJs products I may have no choice but to either return home or open a TJs franchise in Quito.

  2. EVERYBODY MENTION TJs PRODUCTS EXCLUSIVELY!

    ps: this is an intimidating first entry…step-by-step photography? Incredible kitchen gadgets? I’ll never keep up!

  3. Wow, you set the bar high with this entry! Michelle, you asked the same question I had in my head about the zucchini. So this can be done also with just a julienne peeler by hand?

    Do we have to have our own accounts to edit this?

  4. Not all entries need to be so detailed, but I figured we should start off strong! Make sure to accept the invitation I sent you all to be blog contributors, by the way. Midge accepted, so it didn’t ask me to approve her comment, but it asked me to for the other two.

    I didn’t do anything with the zucchini torpedoes because I was in a rush due to the interview. In the future, I’ll probably just chop it and throw it in with the rest of the zucchini.

  5. I tried to accept the invitation but it’s trying to make me create a wordpress account…could we all just have the password to the blog and update it that way? Or would that cause problems/be bad for some reason?

  6. Since I already have a wordpress account, it’s linked to my other blog. I can’t give you the password without giving you the password to my whole account… plus, then every entry would be credited to my username. Is there a problem with creating a wordpress account?
    As far as the zucchini, I made the noodles again tonight and just left on that weird stub at the top of the zucchini that you normally trim off. With that attached, I was able to get more of the zucchini to spiral, and the remaining waste was negligible.

    1. I will just set up an account…I don’t like having my name on blogs because I had an awkward experience with a student at my last job who Googled me and found an old blog, read entries, and brought up what he read in class. Fortunately there was nothing too embarrassing….but it was awkward nonetheless! I guess my name is here if I post via Facebook anyways so it’s kind of a moot point.

Leave a Reply

