Mostly Healthy Banana Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

Since I had two near-rotting bananas sitting on my counter last week, I decided I wanted to make something banana-and-pumpkin flavored. I stumbled upon this recipe from Closet Cooking and adapted it to my needs. The recipe made 16 muffins. Colin’s mom ate one. Colin and I ate the other FIFTEEN in the course of two days. That’s how good they were.

Bonus: no oil, and I made them with mostly whole wheat flour! I didn’t make the bourbon pecan sauce the site suggests, but added dark chocolate chips.

ImageImage

Here’s the recipe with my modifications:

Ingredients
  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ginger
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon cloves (I didn’t have cloves. Remember how I mentioned in my last entry that I was buying cloves at Safeway, but then they rang up at $8+?)
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree
  • 2 large over-ripe bananas
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup Greek yogurt
  • 1/2 cup walnut pieces
  • 1/2 cup dark chocolate chips
Directions
  1. Mix the flours, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg and cloves in a large bowl.
  2. Mix brown sugar, pumpkin puree, bananas, eggs and yogurt in another large bowl.
  3. Mix the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients followed by the walnuts and choc chips.
  4. Pour the mixture into a greased muffin tin.
  5. Bake in a preheated 350F oven for 15 minutes.
2 thoughts on “Mostly Healthy Banana Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

Leave a Reply

