Weeknight Dinner, aka: Bacon for Vegetarians

Image

My cell phone doesn’t take great photos of the food I cook in a dark apartment at dinner time (whose does?), but if a picture of bacon sizzling in a pan doesn’t make stop you in your tracks and check your freezer to see if you have any bacon stashed away in the back part next to the bag of frozen spinach you forgot you had, then I don’t know if you’re human.

I almost never cook bacon for myself; instead, I prefer to leave that endeavor to Thinker’s Cafe, a small breakfast joint down the hill that specializes in kickass breakfast burritos.  They have a vegetarian version, but I’ve never ordered it – I have an extreme weakness for bacon, eggs, cheese, green onions, and avocado wrapped in a gloriously grilled tortilla.  But back to bacon for dinner.  Dan and I have had a crazy week, and we haven’t cooked at home much this week.  I wanted something quick, relatively easy and healthy, and home-cooked for dinner tonight.  I had some kale I needed to use up, but was looking for something a bit more substantial.  Enter BACON!  I tossed the kale with a quick dressing made of the bacon grease (it sounds so gross to say that!) and some apple cider vinegar, and added some walnuts and dried cranberries to the bacon.  Super simple, but super delicious!

Image

Since Dan would be horrified at the idea of kale for dinner (and frankly, so would I!), I threw together a quick orzo dish.  The secret to this one is to toast the orzo on a dry pan until it turns a golden brown and gives off a slightly nutty smell.  It makes it so rich and tasty!  I just mixed it with a can of garbanzo beans, some parsley and some red onions that I marinated in lemon juice  Toss all of that with a pat of butter as the pasta comes out of the pan, and you’ve got a tasty meal!

Image

Leave a Reply

