Cranberry Almond Cake – not just for breakfast anymore!

Since I won’t get to cook any part of the official Thanksgiving meal this year (we’re going to Dan’s aunt’s house in Boston), I am making the bulk of my Thanksgiving food this week!  My school is doing a potluck, so I made this cranberry almond cake, inspired by this recipe.  I was out of eggs (due to using them all up to make the deviled eggs I’m bringing to Tuesday Night Dinner), so I had to try using flax with water.  It seemed to work pretty well, and I licked the batter without worrying about salmonella.  So, win all around.  Anybody else experienced with egg substitutes?

The cake recipe itself was pretty simple.  I mixed a cup of sugar with a stick of butter, and whipped it up until it was creamy.  I added in a teaspoon of vanilla, and my egg substitute (2 tablespoons of ground flax with 6 tablespoons of water), and mixed it all up.  I slowly mixed in 1.5 cups of flour, 1.5 teaspoons of baking soda, and a half cup of milk.  Finally, I added 1.5 cups of diced cranberries.  I put it all in a cake pan, topped it with sliced almonds, and baked it for 35 minutes at 350 degrees.  Voila!  Juicy, tart, and delightfully crunchy on top!

Image

2 thoughts on “Cranberry Almond Cake – not just for breakfast anymore!

  1. More info about the flax + h20 egg substitute please! Also, I saw your title and immediately knew that Beth of BB had inspired you. Did you use almond extract? I didn’t have any, which was the reason why I didn’t immediately make this cake.

  2. I didn’t use almond extract. I just used vanilla extract in place of it. I’m sure it would have been more delicious with the almond extract, but it was tasty without it! Also, the flax and water thing worked okay – definitely would next time use 1T flax meal with 2T water per “egg” instead of 3T water – I thought it made the batter a little too wet. Frozen cranberries were fine, I just defrosted them! Make it now – all the teachers ate it up before 11:00!

Leave a Reply

