Happy Thanksgiving!!!

Like Michelle, I have been thinking about developing new family traditions with Colin. This is our second Thanksgiving together, but our first as a married couple. And I can’t WAIT for our first Christmas together. I suggested that this year we leave each other little stocking stuffer gifts for the 12 days leading up to Christmas, but spend the bulk of the money we would have spent on each other going on a weekend trip together. I smell the start of a tradition…

We are heading over to his family’s house later today for Thanksgiving dinner, so I decided I wanted to do something for the two of us that could possibly become a tradition. I made pumpkin Chancakes with cranberry sauce.

As you may know, a Chancake is a dense, egg-y pancake, halfway between a pancake and a crepe. It’s the kind my dad used to make every once in awhile. Since the only other food he cooked was usually some kind of weird Chinese soup, it was a treat. Rumor has it he’d use an entire dozen eggs for the family breakfast. They’re super easy and really don’t require measuring, just a sense of how the batter should look.

Here is my modified pumpkin recipe. I made up approximate measurements because I didn’t use any. This made 6 large pancakes.

  • 1 cup flour
  • 5 eggs
  • 1/3 cup milk or, if you’re feeling decadent, half-and-half (I used fat free half-and-half this morning. #TJPTMIMOO)
  • 2/3 cup canned pumpkin
  • 1/2 tbsp vanilla
  • 1 tbsp cinnamon
  • 1 tbsp pumpkin pie spice

Whisk it all together. The batter should be runny. I usually start conservatively with the flour and add a little more if needed, but, seriously, it should be really runny.

IMG_1022
See? Runny.

Heat oil on medium-high. When you pour the batter in, immediately tilt the pan to thin it out and make the pancake larger. When it starts to bubble in the middle, flip it. The edges should start to curl up; I usually leave it on another 15 seconds after that, then take it off the stove.

IMG_1020
Note the curled-up edges.

 

While they cooked, I threw together some cranberry sauce to use in place of syrup.

IMG_1024
Voila!

Colin says the only downside of Chancakes is that they fill you up too quickly – he could barely finish two.

Now it’s time to start cooking more Thanksgiving food. I am in charge of the green bean casserole and sweet potatoes. I stuck to the traditional recipe for the former, but, in honor of Thanksgivukkah, I am going to attempt to make sweet potato-apple latkes with a brown sugar butter sauce and candied pecans. I’ll let you know how they turn out.

One thought on “Happy Thanksgiving!!!

  1. Yay for new food traditions! I love the idea of thinking of ways for just you and Colin to celebrate together. Plus, “chancakes” is too great to leave behind. That cranberry sauce looks amazing!

Leave a Reply

