Sweet Potatoes Latkes

I was put in charge of sweet potatoes for the Winslow family Thanksgiving this year. My mom always just candied her sweet potatoes: slice ’em, bake ’em, cover them in brown sugar and butter. It’s tasty, but nothing mind-blowing. And I’ll eat a marshmallow-laden sweet potato casserole happily, but it’s not something I grew up with or love especially.

So I hunted around and decided to make sweet potato latkes in the spirit of Thanksgivukkah. And it was a solid win. Everyone loved them. I think a tradition has been born.

For the recipe, I refer you to The Shiksa in the Kitchen. Modifications:

– No curry powder. I love curry more than just about anyone, but I was making this for a bunch of people at Thanksgiving dinner, so I didn’t want to get all fancy with it.

– For frying, I used a mix of vegetable oil and coconut oil (because you need a lot of oil, and coconut oil is expensive) instead of the suggested olive or grapeseed oil. The coconut oil gave the latkes a REALLY nice flavor.

– I made the brown sugar sauce the way my mom makes it, basically by heating a lot of butter and a lot of sugar on medium-low and whisking for a long time until combined.

– I brought candied nuts for topping, but I actually preferred it without. The nuts were just overkill.

IMG_1028
The finished latkes.
IMG_1032
The brown sugar and butter sauce.
One thought on “Sweet Potatoes Latkes

Leave a Reply

