Seasonless corn cakes #CVMIE (Come Visit Me In Ecuador)

You guys all have Trader Joe’s and nutritional yeast and cheap cashews, but here in Ecuador, we have ridiculously cheap produce all year round, and being along the equator means we don’t have to worry about pesky agricultural issues like “seasons”. (Sadly, I love seasons.) But that means that summer goods like corn, basil, tomatoes and strawberries are fresh, in season, and local all year round!

Image

One of my resolutions was to plan our meals better to avoid mindless pasta days (planned pasta days are still frequent, acceptable, and enjoyed) and to hopefully waste less food. My plan for today was these summer corn cakes with a tomato/avocado salsa. I wasn’t sure how they’d turn out, especially since I had to substitute normal milk for buttermilk and a rough ground, dry polenta for cornmeal since I realized that we didn’t have any. They were delicious! We fried with less oil than called for (more like a pancake amount than a latke/fried good amount), and they tasted fresh and surprisingly light(ish), especially with the tomato/avocado salsa (DON’T SKIP IT!). Unfortunately, I realized how delicious the corn cakes were after we ate them all (I halved the recipe and Alvi was hungry), so I don’t have a photo for you. The above photo is from here and encourage you to all make this recipe in about 6 months!

3 thoughts on “Seasonless corn cakes #CVMIE (Come Visit Me In Ecuador)

  1. You can put a tablespoon of lemon juice in the milk and let it sit for a few minutes before using to sub for buttermilk. I wouldn’t use for sauces or dressings, but works well enough for baking/batters.

  2. I’ve done that sub many-a-time because they don’t sell buttermilk here, but the recipe only called for 2 tablespoons of buttermilk and I didn’t think it was worth getting a dropper out to calculate the lemon juice : milk ratio. 🙂

Leave a Reply

