Savory Sweet Potato Skins


IMG_1542

This is a recipe I first made years ago. (Colin had no memory of ever eating them before, so I think it must have been pre-Colin.) They’re delicious, but I made so many at the time that I froze a bunch and was eating them for months, so it’s taken awhile for me to want to make more. Last night I decided the day had finally come for me to allow sweet potato skins back into my heart/mouth, so here they are. They taste super rich and creamy, but they’re really pretty healthy  — the small amount of cream cheese (less than half an ounce per skin) goes a long way.

The recipe is from Pinch of Yum, but here it is with my inevitable alterations made:

INGREDIENTS
  • 5 medium or small sweet potatoes
  • olive oil, as needed
  • 2 shallots, chopped finely
  • 1.5 cups frozen chopped spinach, thawed and drained
  • 1/2 cup Greek yogurt
  • 4 ounces cream cheese
  • 1 (15 oz) can chickpeas, drained
  • shredded cheese to sprinkle on top (the recipe calls for mozzarella; I had TJ’s Quattro Formaggio on hand, so that’s what I used. #TJPTMIMOO)
  • salt and pepper to taste (I like to add a fair amount of salt to counteract the sweetness of the potato.)
INSTRUCTIONS
  1. Bake sweet potatoes at 350 for 45-60 minutes, or until fork tender.
  2. Cut sweet potatoes in half and let cool for 5-10 minutes. While sweet potatoes are cooling, saute the shallots with the olive oil over medium heat until translucent. Add spinach and heat for 2-3 minutes. Set aside.
  3. Scrape the sweet potato out of the peel, leaving a thin layer inside with the peel so that it can stand up on its own. Mash the sweet potato with the cream cheese and Greek yogurt. Stir in chickpeas, spinach/shallot mixture, and salt and pepper.
  4. Coat potato skins with a drizzle of oil and bake for about 5 minutes to get a crispier outside. Remove from oven and fill each skin with the sweet potato mixture and top with shredded cheese. Bake again for 10-15 minutes, or until cheese is melted and filling is heated through.
IMG_1536
Pre-cheese.

I once again have a bunch of leftover skins, but at least this time I have Colin around to help me eat them. Actually, I’m eating one right now.

IMG_1543

2 thoughts on “Savory Sweet Potato Skins

  1. There is a rumor among expats in Quito that they sell sweet potatoes at this one market that isn’t super close to my place. This recipe is making me want to make the trek out there to get sweet potatoes!

  2. This looks delish! I have sweet potatoes, but I was planning on doing a really simple twice-bake – just fluff up the inside with a little olive oil, salt, pepper, and top it with zataar and feta. If only I had cream cheese for these!

Leave a Reply

