My Favorite Breakfast Hash

Hash

This is one of my favorite breakfasts to cook up on a lazy saturday when I wake up late and don’t get around to making anything until is basically questionably lunch time. The parsnips could be replaced with sweet or regular potatoes, but I like the flavor of parsnips- they have a sweet unique taste kind of like a carrot.

Ingredients: 

  • 1 large parsnip, peeled and shredded
  • 10-15 brussels sprouts, sliced (into disc-type shapes)
  • 1/4 small onion, diced
  • 4-6 crimini mushrooms, sliced
  • 1 tsp coconut oil for cooking (or whatever oil you want)
  • 2 eggs to fry plus oil to fry in (I’ve been loving avocado oil lately)
  • Diced Ham (Optional)
  • Salt and Pepper

Instructions:

1. Microwave the shredded parsnips for 2-3 minutes or until they soften a bit to speed up the cooking process.

2. While those are in the micro, heat up a pan with the coconut oil and add the onion, sautee.

3. Add the parsnips and sautee until lightly browned, stirring often.

4. Add in the brussels sprouts and mushrooms, and sautee a bit more until it’s all softened.

5. Turn the hash to low while you fry up a couple of eggs and some ham on the side. Mix the ham into the hash if desired.

Hash Cooking

6. Top the hash with the egg and douse with some good hot sauce.

7. Eat up, buttercup! Preferably while watching some good reality TV and drinking a coffee with almond/coconut milk.

4 thoughts on “My Favorite Breakfast Hash

  1. This looks delicious! I used to eat parsnips ALL THE TIME in New Zealand, and somehow fell off the bandwagon this week. I’m making a parsnip coconut curry tonight, so maybe I’ll make this for the weekend! Give me any vehicle for a fried egg with runny yolk, and I’ll be making it!

  2. I’ve been trying to shred brussels sprouts, but I can never get it to shred nicely! It just stays together- do I need to be chopping more of the root off? Mine definitely seem more disc-like. If it helps, I usually chop the root off, then slice in half (vertically), then turn those vertical halves to be cut side down, and slice from there. Any suggestions? I want to make delicious, non-potato hashes like you do!

    1. i usually just chop the end off and then slice it into discs, or if I’m making a lot and already have my food processor out to shred something else I’ll use that with the slicer disc. It usually kinda falls apart in the hash on its own but I don’t mind disc shaped chunks in the hash. You could try slicing thinner discs and/or just roughing them up with your hands to get them to fall apart more too.

      1. Ooh, food processor- I didn’t think of that! I should be roughing them up too. Hello, weekend breakfast brussels hash!

Leave a Reply

