Jumping on the cauliflower bandwagon

honey-roasted-cauliflower-pine-nuts-crispy-sage-recipe-top

(image from http://foodformyfamily.com/recipes/honey-roasted-cauliflower-with-pine-nuts-and-crispy-sage)

This is really just a quick link to a recipe I liked. I know that cauliflower is getting trendy (apparently it is slated to be 2014’s vegetable of the year? weird), and I’ve never really liked it unless in a 1:1:1 ratio with eggs and cheese and topped with pizza deliciousness, but I have finally learned that roasting it is truly the secret! I just made this recipe, and it’s amazing! It’s really simple, but I never would have thought to add the honey, and it takes the recipe up a notch. The sage makes it feel kind of fall-ish, but it’s been cold in the US lately, right? No need to rush into spring! I used a bit less of the honey than was called for, and thought that much more would have been too sweet- I think a 1:2 or 1:3 honey/olive oil ratio is better. I didn’t have any pine nuts, but I bet they would be delicious. Oh, and my sage leaves basically became candy with the semi-caramelized honey. YUM.

Also, I’m glad I can finally share a recipe that isn’t bean, bread, potato, or cheese based! Sarah, is honey paleo? I hope you guys can try this, although I bet you probably eat a lot of cauliflower rice and in other ways.

6 thoughts on “Jumping on the cauliflower bandwagon

  1. Honey is paleo! I think I’ll give this a try! Thanks for thinking of us in your recipe posting 🙂

    We do eat a lot of cauliflower as fried rice, mashed, or roasted. And it is delicious! I also used it to thicken up a chowdery soup the other day and that was amazing. It tasted like a loaded baked potato soup once I added bacon and green onions on top.

  2. hahaha now that you mention it, I think I re-pinned it from you and forgot. So yes, fate and social networking. 🙂 Thanks for inspiring me!

  3. Keep your eyes posted for a cauliflower recipe I’m posting later this week! It’s a cauliflower rice with beans and currants. Not paleo, but easily modifiable!

  4. I have always hated cauliflower, I even tried it a while ago done like “buffalo wings” and it was still terrible. But last month I tried this recipe and I loved it! I even made it a few more times, with extra sage leaves because that was the best part. Thanks for a great find!

Leave a Reply

