Eggs. A Lot of Eggs.

Welp!  I think my food posts are probably only applicable to Michelle (and possibly Daria!), since Sarah and Brianna are eating pretty differently than I eat, but one thing we all seem to be eating is eggs!  And I eat a lot of eggs.  I recently discovered how to soft-boil an egg, and man!  Life-changing!  The fully cooked white combined with the creamy runniness of the inside is pretty much food nirvana.  I took a terrible photo of my soft-boiled egg yesterday that I’m forcing you all to look at.

Image
My terrible cell phone photo of my poorly cracked soft-boiled egg. Everything about this is horrible, except HOW DELICIOUS IT WAS.

I’ve been using Beth from Budget Byte’s technique for soft-boiling eggs, and it works great for me!  I followed one commenter’s suggestion to add a quick splash of olive oil to the water, and it does make it easier to shell the egg, which is important since it’s pretty delicate on the outside.

Michelle convinced me to try making this white-bean mash, which I only prepared because of the promise of having full-fat milk on hand afterward for making my coffee even better than usual.  It turned out really tasty!  I had some extra lemony sauteed kale  leftover after I made it, and it was good even by itself the next day.  I modified the recipe by using whole milk instead of heavy cream, and I didn’t have any green onions on hand, but everything else I already had, which made it a great throw-together meal for a Thursday night.  Of course, topping it with the fried egg was the best part!

Image
It’s hard to see, but this is a cheesey white bean mash with beans smushed together with some milk, cheddar and Parmesan cheese, and garlic. It’s topped with lemony sauteed kale and a fried egg! Some onions or shallots would also be tasty in this, as would a little rosemary!

I didn’t take a picture of it, but I also made this red lentil and spinach dish tonight, an it was SO GOOD!  Bri, are you eating protein like lentils?  You could use full-fat coconut milk to get the fats high up there!  You start by sauteeing onions, adding some garlic and ginger, and then a hint of coriander with some garam masala and cumin.  Then, you toss in some diced tomatoes, coconut milk and some water, and the red lentils.  You let it all simmer for a while, and then mix in some fresh spinach at the end.  I served it over some brown rice with a salad, and it was so delicious!

Image
Photo from Feed Me Phoebe, at http://feedmephoebe.com/2014/02/red-lentil-recipe

In other news, you should all move out to SF!  Dan and I have been skiing most weekends (this is our home-away-from-home for the ski season, a sweetas ski lease in Truckee!), and generally been playing in the snow.

Image
Our awesome ski lease!

This weekend, we stuck around the Bay Area and went road biking in Petaluma and  and Tomales Bay, which was incredibly beautiful.  I know we pay a lot to live in San Francisco (understatement of the century, perhaps), but living in a place where I can choose between great skiing or road-biking in 70-degree weather on the weekends is pretty awesome!

Image
I get to marry this hunk!

What have you all been up to?

6 thoughts on “Eggs. A Lot of Eggs.

  1. I love eggs. I’ve been really into poaching them. I use these instructions, though I just pour the vinegar straight into the water. http://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/the-perfect-poach

    Is there much difference between soft boiling and poaching?

    Lentils and the white bean mash both sound delicious. I’m currently not eating either – not because I think they’re bad, but just because they would use up my entire allotment of carb grams for the day in one serving. I’m going to file that white bean mash under “Things to Make After Keto.”

    Drink that full fat milk with abandon! I swear I’m not trying to convert you to keto; I actually switched our house to organic whole milk a couple months ago because of a spate of studies that came out recently about it. Like this one:
    http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/23320900
    And this one: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/kristin-wartman/got-organic-whole-milk-ne_b_4421306.html

    (As to what I’ve been doing lately, I have seriously been using the ample time afforded to me by unemployment to just read about nutritional studies all. day. long. for over a week now. Maybe I’m having grad school research withdrawals. So I’m sorry if I sound obsessed; it’s because I am.)

  2. I wanted to get into soft boiled eggs, but I couldn’t figure out how to peel the egg without breaking it! I’ll try the OO trick. Also, I don’t think I convinced you to make the bean mash- I think I just pinned it! I haven’t tried it yet (no sharp OR white cheddar here, boo), but I think I’ll try it this week with boring ecua-cheese. Brianna, your articles were a good reminder that I should probably be ponying up a bit more money for whole, organic milk- I have access to organic milk off of a friend’s farm, but it’s sold in a gallon, and it’s hard to find space in the fridge and to drink it fast enough! I’ll have to make more ricotta and paneer- it will be worth it to not continue drinking the stuff that’s so processed that it’s sold in the aisles of the supermarket, not refrigerated!

  3. Ha! On that link for the perfect poach, it instructs you to “trim the extra egg white edges” off the side of the egg. WHO IS DOING THAT?!!? I do love poached eggs, but I like soft-boiled because it has all the awesomeness of a poached egg or fried egg (the runny yolk), no worries about undercooked whites like a fried egg, and it’s WAY easier than a poached egg to do. No swirling or vinegar necessary…just a half inch of water and a 6-minute steam bath. Done!

    The article about the full-fat dairy was interesting. Dan and I have been drinking organic milk for about three years, partly because I read somewhere that if you buy anything organic, it should be milk, and partly because it just lasts way longer than the other stuff. I consume a ton of milk, though (hello, cereal addiction), and I worry that if I bought whole milk, I wouldn’t properly reduce my caloric intake and would just balloon up. Has anything come out about full-fat yogurt? Is it the same recommendation as milk? Because I would LOVE a study to back me up that the creamy goodness of full-fat yogurt is nutritionally better than nonfat Greek yogurt.

  4. Haha! I didn’t notice the part about trimming the whites. I just searched for something that used the swirl-and-vinegar method, since I’d forgotten where I originally found it. I will have to give soft-boiled eggs a try.

    There was a brief section of the Taubes book I read about identical twins that he used to support his argument that, while calories matter, they don’t matter nearly as much as we think they do. He showed pictures of naked middle-aged twins, and the similarity in their patterns of weight gain is astonishing. He points out that it’s simply not sensible to think that they actually managed their calorie intake and calorie expenditure so exactly as to end up at almost the exact same weight, with the exact same pattern of fat storage. Rather, your genes and individual hormones have a lot to do with it. For someone who tends to stay at a healthy weight, your body is likely well-regulated to keep you more or less that way. If you take in a few more calories, it will probably make you a little less hungry at some other time, or make you feel a little more energetic to burn them off. For someone like me, whose hormones are probably somewhat dis-regulated to predispose me to fat storage, I can have a significant calorie deficit and my body will potentially respond by robbing other organs of their needed energy, or perhaps by making me feel sluggish so as to burn fewer. (I’m oversimplifying here, obviously, but that’s the gist of it.) The basis of my current diet is that I am likely among those whose bodies have an exaggerated response to the presence of glucose, such that it prevents fat from moving out of my cells. (I definitely know that I put on weight the fastest when I’m staying at my parents’ house, which has a thousand times more starchy things than I keep in my house.) By removing glucose by limiting carb intake, I can force my body that find an alternate fuel source: my stored fat. In other words, for a normal weight person like you, your body will probably adjust accordingly if you take in a few more calories via whole milk.

    Sometimes I take comfort in the idea that, if there were a famine, I’d be one of the survivors.

    Here is another study showing that cheese intake and (for normal weight women) full fat milk was inversely associated with weight gain, though it doesn’t specifically address yogurt: http://ajcn.nutrition.org/content/84/6/1481.full

    Here, the head of the Nurses’ Health Study mentions full-fat yogurt (at the bottom): http://www.newscientist.com/article/dn25102-is-fullfat-milk-best-the-skinny-on-the-dairy-paradox.html#.Uwt72vmKWuJ
    (Apparently that study found that full-fat dairy is also better for fertility? Just in case that’s a concern of yours.)

    This article nicely summarizes a lot of the recent findings on dietary fat: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/kristin-wartman/a-big-fat-debate_b_831332.html

    One of the most interesting things about the books I’ve been reading is the history of how we ended up with the low-fat recommendations that have been considered gospel for the last 50 years. It appears to be a case of some cherry-picked data and tenuous hypotheses being prematurely adopted by the government as dietary recommendations, and then becoming dogma – in spite of many conflicting studies. This is a great Taubes article on that topic if you get the time: http://www.nytimes.com/2002/07/07/magazine/what-if-it-s-all-been-a-big-fat-lie.html?src=pm&pagewanted=1

Leave a Reply

