Garden-to-Table Saag Paneer

The kale, chard, and spinach in my garden are currently growing so fast, we can barely eat it all. Earlier this week, I went out with a pair of kitchen scissors and came back with a mixing bowl overflowing with greens – and still barely made a dent in the garden. So I turned it all into one of my favorite dark leafy green-based dishes: saag paneer. (I had to do some googling to figure out the difference between palak paneer and saag paneer; apparently palak is spinach only. So what I made was technically saag paneer.)

I used this recipe as a guideline. I wanted to make the paneer myself, because I’ve never done it before, but I didn’t come up with this dinner idea until 5pm, and I still needed to run to the store. So I just bought paneer at an international market.

Ingredients:

  • paneer, diced (I used a block that was about 5x2x2 inches)
  • 1 1/2 tbsp. ghee
  • 4 cloves garlic
  • 1 (1″) piece of ginger
  • 1 serrano chile, stemmed
  • 6 cups leafy greens (I have no idea how much I actually used; it was just everything I’d harvested that day)
  • 2 tomatoes, roma or vine
  • salt, to taste
  • 3/4 cup heavy cream
  • 1 tbsp. garam masala
  • 1 tsp. cayenne
  • flatbread/rice/cauliflower rice, for serving (or just eat it on its own. it’s good that way too.)

Instructions:

  1. Heat the ghee in a large pan on medium-high. (I made my own ghee with these instructions.) Fry the paneer until golden brown, then remove from pan and set aside. Leave the ghee.
  2. Puree the ginger, garlic, serrano chile, and tomatoes into a paste with a food processor.
  3. Add the paste to the pan and sautee until fragrant.
  4. Add the greens to the pan and stir. Once cooked down, puree the mixture to your desired texture.
  5. After returning the saag to the pan, add the paneer, cream, and spices. Cover and let simmer for 15 minutes.
  6. Serve with rice, flatbread, cauliflower rice, etc.
IMG_1725
MMMMmmm. Crispy, golden paneer.
IMG_1726
I grew all this, guys!
IMG_1727
The finished product.

I also attempted to make keto naan. I don’t want to talk about that.

4 thoughts on “Garden-to-Table Saag Paneer

Leave a Reply

