Salmon Poached in Green Coconut Curry

IMG_2102

I had some salmon in the fridge that I was planning on throwing on the grill last night. But then I suddenly recalled one of the best salmon dishes I’ve ever had, from a sort of hip pan-Asian restaurant here in Tucson. The salmon was poached in coconut curry, and it was wonderful. After that was in my head, grilled salmon sounded pretty boring. I glanced at a couple green curry recipes, but basically just winged it. Here’s what I did so that you don’t have to wing it.

Ingredients:

  • 3 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1 tbsp grated lemongrass
  • 1 tbsp ginger paste
  • 1 tbsp fish sauce
  • 1 tsp lime juice
  • Basil leaves (I probably used about 15, because that’s what was left on my basil plant after some enthusiastic pesto-making the other day)
  • 1 1/2-2 tbsp green curry paste
  • 1 can Trader Joe’s Extra Thick & Rich Coconut Cream
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 cube bouillon
  • 2 green onions, cut into long, thin pieces
  • 1/2 large yellow onion, sliced
  •  2 (?) bell peppers, sliced thinly (I actually just used a couple handfuls of mini bell peppers, since that’s what I had on hand)
  • 2 small or 1 large carrot(s), chopped
  • 1/2 lb broccoli florets
  • 1 whole salmon fillet
  • Rice or cauliflower rice, if desired. We ate ours as a sort of soup.

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350.
  2. Heat a pan on medium-low. Add coconut oil.
  3. Once the oil is heated, add the grated lemongrass, basil leaves, and ginger paste. Stir until fragrant.
  4. Turn the heat up to medium. Add the green onions, carrots and bell peppers, along with the curry paste. Stir. After about 2 minutes, add the onions and broccoli.
  5. Once the broccoli florets turn dark green, add the coconut cream, water, fish sauce, lime, and bouillon cube. Turn heat up to medium-high.
  6. Once the bouillon is dissolved and the mixture begins to simmer, place the salmon fillet in the bottom of a glass casserole dish. Pour the curry and vegetables over the salmon. You want the dish small and deep enough that the curry will completely cover the fish.
  7. Place in the oven for 10-13 minutes, or until salmon flakes easily. Serve immediately.

IMG_2097 IMG_2098

IMG_2099
This stuff is THE BEST. I put it in chia seed pudding, in protein smoothies, in keto cheesecake… basically, I put it in anything I can think to put it in.

 

 

6 thoughts on “Salmon Poached in Green Coconut Curry

  1. How do you grate lemongrass? I usually just toss a few stalks into the food processor when I make curry (no paste here) and then a few more stalks into the liquid curry mix as it’s cooking for more flavor (that I then remove) but I’ve never heard of grating it! Also, ginger paste is a thing? Is it just grated ginger with water or oil? I feel so out of the loop! This post is inspiring me to make a tofu or potato curry soon! Thanks for the idea!

  2. I just used the small-holed side of my cheese grater. I bought the ginger paste at a middle eastern grocery a few weeks ago. Every time I buy ginger, I use a chunk of it and then the rest shrivels up because I don’t go through ginger fast enough. I decided a jar of ginger paste was a smart investment. Ingredients are ginger, vinegar, and some sodium/potassium-y things that are probably preservatives.

    1. I just made a curry tonight (you inspired me!) and didn’t have any lemongrass (and didn’t want to buy any right before traveling on Friday), so I cut open a lemongrass herbal tea bag and dumped the contents into my food processor. The flavor wasn’t nearly as strong as the actual stalks, but it definitely added some extra flavor in a pinch! Strategy recommended under dire circumstances.

  3. Mmm, sounds good! I love fish and coconut milk. Patrick and I love this recipe in the summer, we put the foil packet on the grill.

    http://noonionplease.wordpress.com/2010/08/15/trout-steamed-in-a-thai-way/

    About the ginger, just break the root into chunks and put them in a freezer bag in the freezer. It never goes bad, and you will always have it on hand! Just grate off what you need with a micro plane. I have bought ginger maybe twice in the last 8 years because of this trick.

    1. Yes! I was just going to suggest freezing ginger! I grate it with a microplane grater and don’t even peel it if it comes from the freezer. I wrap mine in foil and then put it in a bag in the freezer. Thanks for the grating tip for the lemongrass, Nuna- good to know!

      1. Hmm. I froze ginger once and found it hard to work with later, but I probably tried to mince it with a knife, since that’s what I usually do. Apparently grating is the way to go? But I have a jar of ginger paste now, so remind me in five years.

Leave a Reply

