The Best Fish Tacos

Patrick and I haven’t eaten dinner together for the last 3 days due to work, so tonight we wanted to have a “fancy” but still simple dinner. I had some macadamia nuts in the cupboard and plenty of taco toppings in the fridge, so Taco Tuesday it was. I know that doesn’t sound too fancy, but these were my favorite fish tacos. So good that I’ve even gotten Patrick’s extremely picky (seriously, she lives on top ramen and raw cookie dough) cousin to try them and ask for seconds. It’s super easy to throw together and cook, maybe 10 minutes prep if you are just cooking for 2, and 20 minutes in the oven. I have only ever used tilapia, but I’m sure you could try it with other fish and just adjust the cooking time.

Ingredients:

1 tilapia fillet per person, you can leave it whole or cut it into smaller pieces equal in size.
Macadamia nuts, maybe 1/2 cup per fillet? I never seem to have enough, so I thin it out with bread crumbs or panko.
Egg, beaten and thinned with a little milk or water.
Flour, seasoned with S & P or whatever.
Tortillas (duh)
Various taco toppings.

Preheat oven to 400. Get out your cookie sheet and sili pat.
Grind up the nuts in a food processor till crumbly.
Dredge the fish pieces in flour, then in the egg, then through the nut crumbs. Place on cookie sheet. Bake about 20 minutes, or till done.

So easy! Usually we top it with a pineapple salsa (pineapple, jalapeño, cilantro, onion, and lime juice), but I wanted to use what I had, so I made a quick cabbage salad (cabbage, cilantro, lime), scooped out some avocado, and used some of my peach salsa, pickled onions, and peach-mango-habanero hot sauce. Yummy!

Here are some crappy pictures:

20140401-230211.jpg

20140401-230224.jpg

20140401-230231.jpg

One thought on “The Best Fish Tacos

Leave a Reply

