Peanut sauce tofu and broccoli rice bowl and other food musings

Image

I’m not sure who around here is eating tofu these days, but this recipe (also the source of the beautiful photo) pretty much combines my love for peanut sauce with my interest in getting some protein in my diet. I’d never thought to bake the tofu with the peanut sauce already marinating on the tofu, but it was delicious! I’ve also been using my bamboo steamer to steam veggies (cauliflower, broccoli, potatoes, corn), so when I invited my pre-dinner cocktail buddy to stay for dinner (I already had the tofu marinating in the fridge but no ideas for other parts of the meal), the easiest thing was to steam up some broccoli and add everything to some brown rice.

Since I had the steamer out, I steamed some small potatoes and roasted them up with some garlic, rosemary and thyme and smashed them for eating later in the evening, a la this recipe. I highly recommend this method of roasting potatoes because they’re both crispy and soft at the same time, but definitely urge you all: don’t smash as much as you think you should. The potatoes will fall apart!

I haven’t really made anything all that impressive lately, but because it’s Passover, I’ve been eating lots of beans and corn products, (aka less pasta and pizza than usual) which reminds me of my favorite polenta recipe that I made a few days ago. A friend brought it to a party and I asked her for the recipe, and it’s my favorite way to eat polenta. You cook the polenta according to the instructions with a 3:1 ratio of water or broth and milk (the original recipe calls for cream- that’d be great for you, Nuna!), and then you add real corn kernels near the end of the polenta’s cooking time (frozen or fresh are fine). The polenta should have a “gruel-y” texture at the end (not the thicker texture that you cool and cut into squares). Add some grated cheese (parmesan and some other melty cheese work well) and a tiny bit of butter and basil leaves, and your polenta is delicious! Top it with many spoonfulls of tomato/basil salsa- chopped tomatoes, a tiny bit of garlic, and a generous amount of salt, olive oil, and basil. You guys, this polenta is my new comfort food!

What else are other people eating? On my list for this week is a kale caesar salad (sans croutons if I make it before Passover is over, and with a modified version of the dressing and no bacon…basically, using the above recipe just as a template), this lemongrass tofu bowl (don’t read the text to avoid frustration at apostrophe errors), and I want to try making this vegan chili mac and cheese once Passover is over! Cashews are expensive here, but when used to make a fake cheese sauce over pasta, it seems like it’ll be worth it!

12 thoughts on “Peanut sauce tofu and broccoli rice bowl and other food musings

    1. Ha, oops- I guess I just automatically think of you when I think of cream! Clearly I didn’t think the rest of the recipe through. Enjoy your straight cream!

    1. Peanut sauce is always a good idea! I’m making spring rolls tonight, but really I was just looking for a vessel for more peanut sauce.

    1. I looked through other recipes and they look great! I’ll have to keep going for the beautiful photos and yummy recipes.

  1. Any tricks to a vegan cashew cheese sauce? I’ve been wanting to try this vegan alfredo situation for a while, but I can’t seem to gather up the motivation to make a recipe with a cheese substitute. Cheese always seems like the better choice.

    1. I think the key (and this is coming from someone who has yet to make a successful vegan cashew cheese sauce) is flavor from nutritional yeast and a powerful blender that can get the sauce really smooth. My cauliflower alfredo attempts have always been a bit “less than” because my blender isn’t awesome and leaves some chunks. Let’s try this when I’m in SF!!! (AKA IN 3 MONTHS!!!)

Leave a Reply

