What I’ve Been Eating Lately

IMG_2350
Grilled mini portobello mushrooms stuffed with sundried tomatoes, spinach, sauteed onion and gruyere.
wpid-img_20140519_152005.jpg
Grilled artichokes
IMG_2362
Roasted cauliflower seasoned two ways. (I was making enough cauliflower that I needed two pans, so why not?) Left: curry cauliflower. Right: my usual. (garlic powder/paprika/cayenne/salt/pepper)
IMG_2364
Thai iced tea. One of the best things I’ve done with my life lately is buy a bag of Thai tea from Amazon. I brew a few ounces in my AeroPress and pour it over ice. (If you’re unfamiliar: http://www.amazon.com/Aeropress-Coffee-and-Espresso-Maker/dp/B0047BIWSK/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1400537373&sr=8-1&keywords=aero+press)
IMG_2365
Mascarpone keto crepes, made with cashew meal.
IMG_2368
Homemade salsa (spiced up with a serrano from my garden! – and also a few from Safeway)
5 thoughts on “What I’ve Been Eating Lately

  1. I don’t really like mushrooms, but those look delicious! Grilled artichoke sounds good too- do you do any sort of dipping sauce? We grilled veggies at a friends’ place over the weekend and I made a chimichurri sauce (from Laylita, duh: laylita.com/recipes/2013/07/27/traditional-chimichurri-sauce) that I couldn’t stop pouring over everything, especially the eggplant! But I bet it would be good with artichoke too.

    1. I just used the classic garlic butter with lemon for dipping. I made chimichurri like eight months ago and still have some in my fridge. (I just checked and there’s no mold, so I’m just going to assume it’s fine.) I keep forgetting to use it! Maybe I will put it on grilled salmon and veggies tonight. Mmmmm.

      1. If there’s garlic in the chimichurri with oil, I’d throw it out- there were some warnings about botulism with garlic in the oil (also REALLY unlikely to happen, but potentially fatal, so probably not worth the risk). From what I’ve read, cooking garlic in oil doesn’t present any danger, but “infusing” oil with garlic (or just letting it sit there for 8 months) can lead to a pretty bad issue- some chimichurri recipes explicitly say to refrigerate immediately and only use for 2-3 days. http://umaine.edu/publications/4385e

  2. Hm, that’s probably smart. I assumed the vinegar and lime juice would be sufficient, and it probably is, but that source suggests you don’t try to acidify your own foods for preservation purposes. I guess I’ll make a fresh batch. (Though Julia and I once researched botulism to see how likely it was that I would kill my wedding guests by giving favors that I canned at home, and the number of cases in the US each year is crazy low.)

Leave a Reply

