A Big Batch of Spicy-Sweet Salsa

Despite living in Arizona for nearly eight years now, I had somehow never made my  own salsa until a couple weeks ago. That batch was solid. It tasted like perfectly functional salsa. I made two pints and it was gone quickly. (We eat a LOT of salsa.) So I decided to take a swing at a more interesting salsa, and in a bigger batch.

Enter a Costco tub of sweet golden tomatoes:

IMG_2495I’ve gone to Costco with Colin’s family twice now, and I tend to bite off a little more than I can chew. The first time, I bought two half-gallon cartons of heavy whipping cream. I use a lot of heavy whipping cream, but it didn’t all fit in my fridge, so I froze one. As it turns out, frozen heavy whipping cream does not always defrost back into liquid heavy whipping cream. It was chunky and weird, and I wound up using it to make way more butter than I need. But anyway.

I bought this two-pound crate of golden tomatoes and a carton of ten romas, so I figured I better make some salsa. The golden tomatoes give it a bit of sweetness. I was out of serrano peppers, but I realized that I still had dried chile peppers left from that time I made mole. They worked great and gave the salsa a considerable amount of kick.

Ingredients:

  • 1.5 lbs golden tomatoes
  • 10 roma tomatoes
  • 1 red or white onion
  • 2 red/yellow/orange bell peppers
  • 6 cloves of garlic
  • several sprigs parsley (or cilantro, if you’re into culinary abominations)
  • 4-6 dried chiles, depending on desired spiciness
  • 1/4 cup white vinegar
  • 3 tbsp lime juice
  • salt and pepper, to taste

Instructions:

  1. Put garlic, parsley, and chiles in a food processor. Puree until smooth.
  2. Add 7 of the roma tomatoes, three-quarters of the onion, the bell peppers, and all but a handful of the golden tomatoes. Pulse to reach desired consistency. I had to do this in a couple batches because it didn’t all fit at once. (If you don’t like any chunks in your salsa, use all the tomatoes and the onion at this time.)
  3. Transfer the mixture to a fine strainer over a bowl. If you processed the salsa to be very smooth, you may want to line it with some paper towels/coffee filters. This step gets rid of extra liquid so that your salsa isn’t too watery. Let it drain for a short amount of time.
  4. Put the salsa in a pot over medium-low heat. Bring to a simmer.
  5. Meanwhile, dice the remaining tomatoes and onion. Add to the pot.
  6. Stir in the vinegar, lime juice, and salt.
  7. Allow the salsa to simmer for at least an hour, stirring occasionally. The color should darken and the flavor will sweeten.
  8. Pour into jars and place in the fridge overnight to allow the flavors to meld.
  9. Put it on eggs! Impress friends and family! Eat it like a gazpacho!
IMG_2501
It’s pretty ugly and brown before it cooks.
IMG_2503
I now have three full jars. This should last us for at least the next two weeks.

 

2 thoughts on “A Big Batch of Spicy-Sweet Salsa

  1. Ohhhh, Costco…how I wish I had a membership…

    I would definitely buy those huge bags of frozen spinach and cheese ravioli. They are so good!

    This salsa looks delicious! I mostly end up making a pico de gallo type salsa, since it’s by far the easiest. I might have to try this!

    1. Those ravioli are THE BEST. I got some very large bags of shredded cheese, too, since Colin makes a quesadilla nearly every night before bed.
      I just realized that I forgot to list bell peppers in the recipe.

Leave a Reply

